「グラティチュード・ジャーニー」~ 永遠なる陸奥への想い / JOURNEY OF GRATITUDE – Caring Together with The Tohoku Region of Japan

■作品名 (Title)
「グラティチュード・ジャーニー」~ 永遠なる陸奥への想い
JOURNEY OF GRATITUDE – Caring Together with The Tohoku Region of Japan
■委嘱団体 (Commissioned organization)
ワシントン大学ウインドアンサンブル 委嘱
■作品No (Work No)
■作曲年 (Composition year)
■グレード (Grade)
■演奏時間 (Duration)
■演奏可能最低人数 (musician)
■参考音源 (Audio Sample)
■出版社 (Publisher)
■解説 (Commentary)
Commissioned by and dedicated to the University of Washington Wind Ensemble,Prof. Timothy Salzman, conductor.JOURNEY OF GRATITUDE- Caring Together for The Tohoku Region of Japan

■ 「グラティチュード・ジャーニー」~永遠なる陸奥への想い/八木澤教司 作曲
JOURNEY OF GRATITUDE – Caring Together with The Tohoku Region of Japan/Satoshi YAGISAWA


The University of Washington commissioned Journey of Gratitude – Caring Together With the Tohoku Region of Japan.

Professor Salzman specifically asked me to compose a piece for the Winds for Hope benefit concert, an event staged for the Japanese school bands who have suffered from terrible effects of the Tohoku earthquake and tsunami. I composed this piece based on themes inspired by the beautiful scenery of Tohoku where I am originally from – it is nearly impossible to explain and describe how the beautiful Tohoku region looks like today. This region of Japan has been terribly damaged by the massive March 11th, 2011 earthquake and tsunami and is still affected by radiation. The area has made an impressive recovery with help and support from all over the world as well as the people in Japan. However, today many after-shocks continue to cause fear and tension among the Tohoku people. I have visited the Tohoku region, where my dear friends and family live, many times since the earthquake last year. The damage has been engraved so deeply into their lives that I was unable to write a work about, or for them for a quite long time, and to some degree I strongly felt that it would have been disrespectful to compose music based on the terrible event. Having said that, I continued struggling towards what direction I must take my composition style in an effort to respect and encourage the Tohoku people through music.During my visits to the Tohoku region during January of 2012 I came to realize that people there have begun to express themselves quite differently. People told me, with smiles on their faces: “It was terrible when the earthquake happened, but now the bonds among families and friends are much stronger than before”…“I lost quite a lot, but now I am grateful for small things that I didn’t recognize before”. Since then, my intention is to think even more positively for their best, and hope that the whole world will continue to send them encouragement.My new composition is based on the many expressions of gratitude and caring together that I learned from the Tohoku people, words that give everyone the kind of energetic hope that moves people forward. My wish is to reach out to the Tohoku people’s heart through the University of Washington Wind Ensemble’s warm and passionate sound. Satoshi YAGISAWA

■編成 (Instrumentation)


  1. 「ヴォヤージュ」― 夢と冒険の翼 / Voyage – Flight To A Hopeful Future

  2. 「フローレンスの絆」~ 愛に生きたクリミアの天使 / Florence Nightingale – Angel of the Crimea

  3. インテルメッツォ ~ 独奏クラリネットとウインドアンサンブルのための / Intermezzo – for Clarinet and Concert Band

  4. ファンファーレ「愛と夢の溢れる街」 / Fanfare “a city full of love and dreams”

  5. 「ひたかの大地に」- 母なる北上川の記憶 / Hitaka – The History Of Mother Kitakami River

  6. 流浪の波 / Waves to nowhere

  7. 「マヤの紋章」第1部:偉大なる王と生贄の儀式 / ”Mayan Coat of Arms” Part 1: The great king and the ceremonial ceremonies

  8. 「ザ・ウエスト・シンフォニー」より 第四楽章:地平線に沈む日輪は紅に燃え / ”The West Symphony” 4th movement:Sunlight burning on the horizon burns red

  9. 「シパダン」~ 美しき平和な島への願い / SIPADAN – Inspiration from Peaceful Island

  10. 「時のあとに」― 我が故里へのオマージュ / After the time we had

  11. アチャラナータの祭典 / Festival of acharanata

  12. 「コンチェルティーノ」― ソロ・パーカッションとウインドオーケストラのための ― / Concertino for Solo Percussion and Wind Orchestra

  13. 「散歩、日傘をさす女性」― クロード・モネに寄せて / Promenade, la femme a l’ombrell

  14. ニルヴァーナ / NIRVANA

  15. ファンファーレ「ミュージック・シティ」 / Fanfare “Music City”